Wines of Colline Teramane

Abruzzo: a Land and its Wines

The Colline Teramane district lies to the north of the region and is found between the Gran Sasso peaks and the Adriatic coast. The landscape is breathtaking, thanks to the wonderful manicured vineyards, while a unique soil structure and amenable microclimate favour the production of wine with specific sensorial feature, ideal for cellaring.

Colline Teramane Wines

DOC, DOCG and IGT designated wines are all appellations of origin and typical geographical indication for Italian wines protected by consortia regulated by Ministerial Decree 256/97.

Colline Teramane Montepulciano d’Abruzzo DOCG

Wine produced from the Montepulciano grape and Abruzzo’s only controlled and guaranteed designation of origin.
The relevant area includes a wide range of coastal and inland hills in the province of Teramo, which reaches as far as the Gran Sasso and Monti della Laga foothills to the centre-north.

The Consorzio di Tutela is an organization whose purpose is to safeguard and improve the quality of this wine, and for this reason applies a strict production protocol that requires yield to be lower than ninety quintals per hectare, with no overhead training system to be used for new vine installations. Plant density must be no less than 3,300 per hectare, and vinification and bottling must take place in the production district. The wine may reach the market no sooner than one year for the standard version and three years for the Riserva.

This is a stunning wine of an intense ruby red colour, with nuances of purple. The characteristic, intense, evolved nose ushers in a crisp, sturdy but well-orchestrated and velvety palate, with hints of ripe red berries and spices.



Controguerra DOC

The Controguerra DOC is the most recent controlled designation of origin, awarded in 1996. The wines covered by the production protocol are: Controguerra rosso; Controguerra Cabernet; Controguerra bianco; Controguerra Ciliegiolo; Controguerra novello; Controguerra Pinot nero; Controguerra bianco frizzante; Controguerra Passerina; Controguerra spumante; Controguerra Malvasia; Controguerra passito bianco; Controguerra Riesling; Controguerra passito rosso; Controguerra Moscato amabile; Controguerra Merlot; Controguerra Chardonnay.

In addition, the growing area for grapes to be used in the production of musts and wines to be labelled Controguerra DOC encompasses the entire administrative district of the municipalities of Controguerra, Torano Nuovo, Ancarano, Corropoli and Colonnella, all in the province of Teramo.


Colli Aprutini IGT

Colli Aprutini IGT labelling is reserved for the following wines: still, sparkling, passito whites; still, sparkling, passito, and novello reds; still, sparkling and novello rosés. Colli Aprutini white, red and rosé wines with typical geographical indication labels must be made from grapes harvested in winery vineyards growing one or more varieties suitable for cultivation in the Abruzzo region.

The growing area for grapes to be used in the production of musts and wines to be labelled Colli Aprutini IGT encompasses the entire administrative district of the municipalities of Alba Adriatica, Ancarano, Atri, Basciano, Bellante, Bisenti, Campli, Carzano, Castel Castagna, Castellalto, Castiglione Messere Raimondo, Castilenti, Cellino Attanasio, Cermignano, Civitella del Tronto, Colledara, Colonnella, Controguerra, Corropoli, Giulianova, Martinsicuro, Montefino, Montorio al Vomano, Morro d’Oro, Mosciano S. Angelo, Nereto, Notaresco, Penna S. Andrea, Pineto, Roseto degli Abruzzi, S. Egidio alla Vibrata, Sant’Omero, Silvi, Teramo, Torano Nuovo, Tortoreto, Tossicia, and the village of Trignano in the municipality of Isola del Gran Sasso d’Italia, in the province of Teramo.